June 27th, 2015 1:19 am

First Posted: 8/13/2013

Editor’s note: It’s no secret that the Sunday Dispatch carries a lot of history dating back to 1947. Now, we’re providing our readers with some of that history. Every week, we’ll hop in our Delorean and go back in time to each decade since the Dispatch has been in print to give you a look into the past.

August 2003

The Vullo Yankees of the Pittston Township Little League won the Savo’s Tournament of Champions title with a 10-0 win over Dupont VFW of the Avoca/Dupont Little League. The Yankees became the first back-to-back winners of the tournament since Wyoming/West Wyoming in 1997-98. The Yankees won the Savo’s tourney with an astounding scoring total of 36-3 in three games. Sam Parente had a pair of wins in the tournament, while Carmen LoPresto nabbed the other. Carmen DeOrio, Don Sklanka and Dwight Houseman each homered during the tournament.

August 1993

Frank Fosko, a former Wyoming Area football standout and a Unico All-Star game participant, was named co-captain of the Dickinson College Red Devils football team. Fosko was a 1990 Wyoming Area graduate. The senior defensive end earned his fourth football letter that season with the Red Devils. Fosko’s co-captain would be former Meyers defensive tackle Steven Ostrowskim of Wilkes-Barre.

August 1983

Jim Zardecki, chief detective of the Luzerne County District Attorney’s office and former assistant basketball coach at College Misericordia, was named the Wyoming Area boys basketball coach. Also applying for the position was Dave Dembowski, who was the Warrior coach for the past three seasons. The board voted Zardecki in on a unanimous decision.

August 1973

The Greater Pittston Swim Club copped the championship in the Wyoming Valley Independent Swim League with a perfect record of 6-0. The local squad, coached by George Cosgrove, defeated Wilkes-Barre, 270-215, in the title bout. They also beat Nanticoke, Tunkhannock and Wilkes-Barre twice each. Megan Maguire, Leah Stratton, Collene Hanlon, Jennifer Hanlon, Melita Maguire, Jerry Rinkowitz and Mike Masulis led the way for Greater Pittston. Kathy Healey finished the season for the Pittston club undefeated in the girls 12 and under diving.

August 1963

Sullivan Park defeated Upper Pittston, 7-3, to become champions of the Pittston Playgound Softball League. Members of the Sullivan Park team were Tom Tighe, Ronnie Homschek, Danny Trotta, Ray Morgan, Jim Touhill, Tommy Lyman, Joe McCabe, Jack Morgan, Frank McCabe, Butch Gavich, Ed Hobbs, Moe Mullarkey, Joe Walsh, Tommy Finnerty, Paul Fearick and Bob Valvonis. The team was coached by Tommy Wieskerger.