June 27th, 2015 1:24 am

First Posted: 6/25/2013

The Wyoming Area Fourth Annual Scholarship/Award Celebration was held May 23 with more than 400 people in attendance. Fifty-two local scholarships/award donors were recognized and more than 80 students were honored.

Of these scholarships, eight were new this year.

They are the Maureen McHugh Aritz Memorial Scholarship, the Dr. Joseph A. Miller Scholarship, the Attorney Charles J. Giacometti Memorial Scholarship, the Stephanie Godri-Johnston Memorial Scholarship, the Ryan Jones Memorial Scholarship, the Kathy Keder Pitcavage Memorial Scholarship, the Philip Russo Sr. Family Award and the John and Lola Rindgen Scholarship.

Joseph V. DeLucca, Jr. a Wyoming Area High School and Bloomsburg University graduate who earned his master’s degree in School Counseling and his School Leadership and Superintendent’s certificate from Marywood University, was the speaker.

The fifth annual celebration is scheduled for Thursday, May 22, 2014.

A new scholarship is being developed in memory of Dr. Jennifer Sidari. Born and raised in West Pittston, Dr. Sidari attended Wyoming Area Catholic School from 1993 until 2001 and graduated summa cum laude from Wyoming Area High School in 2005. She then attended the University of Scranton, double majoring in biology and philosophy, and graduate magna cum laude in 2009.

She received a full scholarship to The Commonwealth Medical College and was a member of TCMC’s charter class. She was about to begin her residency in pediatrics at the Janet Weis Children’s Hospital, Danville when she passed away.

Anyone interested in discussing a potential graduation scholarship/award should call Mrs. Rabel at Wyoming Area at 655-2836 ext. 2339.

Note: Part I of this article appeared last week. More photos on page 2B.