Election roundup

June 27th, 2015 1:47 am

First Posted: 5/22/2013

First-term Pittston Mayor Jason Klush will lead the city for another four years after handily defeating bar own Gene Rooney in Tuesday’s Primary Election.

“It’s nice to have the support of the people,” Klush said. “It’s a sign they’re happy with what’s going on.”

He said he’s looking forward to four more years.

“We hope to continue the progress downtown and help reinvigorate the neighborhoods,” Klush said.

Rooney said this is likely his last venture into politics. “I’m not a politician.” He said running for mayor was a learning experience and he was grateful for all the support he received and to the people who encouraged him.

“I learned a lot about the who’s who and the where’s where,” Rooney said. “I met a lot of nice people along the way and learned about their concerns.”

After the sale of his bar, Rooney’s Irish Pub, is finalized, he plans to go into private investigation work.

A Republican write-in effort by resident Donald Yatko failed. Only 76 write-in votes were cast, short of the 100 needed to get on that ballot.

Klush received 887 votes or 72 percent, to Rooney’s 323 votes, or 27 percent.

City activist Barb Zangre was unable to earn one of the two available seats on Pittston City Council. Incumbent Michael Lombardo and former Councilman Ken Bangs won the two seats. Lombardo received 923 votes, Bangs received 576 and Zangre received 388.

Democrat City Controller Chris Latona, who ran unopposed for re-election, received 917 votes. This is the last time his seat will be on the ballot as the home rule measure passed last year eliminates the position.


In Avoca, Democratic Mayor Bob Mullen ran unopposed and earned another term. Council seats in Avoca represent separate wards. In Ward 1, Democrat Tom Fritz ran unopposed and earned a seat. In Ward 2, Democrats Thomas Goul and John D. Boone each won a seat. In Ward 3, Maryann Tigue won a four-year seat on council and Joseph Satkowski won a two-year seat. Democrat Therese Wrubel ran unopposed for tax collector.


In Dupont, unopposed Democratic Mayor Dan Lello won another term. Four candidates were seeking three 4-year slots on council.

Winners were Mark Kowalczyk with 414 votes, Stanley Knick Jr. with 399 votes and Bernard J. Zielinski with 366 votes. Paul Houdyshell was the low vote getter with 235 votes and did not win a seat. Pina Hansen won a two-year term. Democrat Joy Tetlak-Adelstein ran unopposed for tax collector after longtime official William “Billy” Elko decided not to run.


In Duryea, longtime Democratic Mayor Keith Moss ran unopposed and won another term. Eight residents sought four seats on council. Winning seats were Mike McGlynn with 570 votes, Jimmy Balchune with 531 votes, Edward Ameika with 447 votes and Audrey Collier Marcinko with 410 votes. Unsuccessful candidates were Sean Shay with 386 votes, Valerie A. Olszewski with 359 votes, Frank Groblewski with 338 votes and Joan M. Orloski with 320 votes. Democrat Martin Hanczyc ran unopposed for tax collector.


In Exeter, Democratic Mayor Cassandra Coleman ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination. On the Republican side, 48 write-in ballots were cast. Depending on the names on those ballots, Coleman may face competition in General Election. The write-in names were not revealed by press time. Five were seeking three seats on council. Winning Democratic nominations were Joseph Pizano with 460 votes, Thomas Shannon with 364 votes and Rick Turner with 359 votes. Not winning nominations were Betty Ann DeRoberto with 351 votes and Mark Casper with 307 votes. On the Republican side, 135 votes were cast so there could be Republican competition, depending on the count. Democratic tax collector Thomas Polachek ran unopposed.


In Exeter Township, three were running for one supervisor seat. Democrat Neil S. Williams received 95 votes and will face Republican John Coolbaugh who received 151 votes. Republican Donald B. Kreseski, who received 115 votes, did not advance.


In Hughestown, Democratic Councilman Wayne Quick will likely be the borough’s new mayor because Mayor Paul Hindmarsh did not seek re-election. Four Democrats, Barbara Gatto, David Stefanoski, Robert Gable and Marie Griglock, will fill the four council seats.


In Jenkins Township, Incumbent Supervisor Coreen A. Milazzo (365 votes) defeated outgoing Pittston Area School Board member Bob Linskey (336 votes). Democrat Jean Mudlock will run unopposed for tax collector.


In Laflin, two Republicans, Anthony E. D’Eliseo Sr. and Carl Yastremski are running unopposed for two seats on council. Thirty-two write-in votes were cast on the Democratic ballot, so there may be a race in November. Democrat Charles T. Boyd Jr. ran unopposed for tax collector.


In Pittston Township, five Democrats are seeking one seat on the Board of Supervisors. Barbara Attardo, wife of late supervisor Tony Attardo, received the most votes, 338, and won the nomination. David Kaminski received 219 votes, Ron Bruno Marcellini received 141, Carmen Timonte received 101 and Michael Savokinas received 67. Attardo will face Dominick Pepe, the lone Republican candidate who received 78 votes. Democrat Paul Joseph Menichello ran unopposed for auditor and Democrat Rita Timonte ran unopposed for tax collector.


In West Pittston, Democratic Mayor Tony Denisco will run unopposed on the Democratic side. Eighteen write-in votes were case on the Democratic ballot so he may face competition in November. Republican Brian Thornton, Peter Musinski, Barry Hosier and Barry Stankus all won seats on council. Republican George L. Miller ran unopposed for tax collector.


In West Wyoming, Democratic Mayor Joseph T. Herbert handily earned his party’s nomination, but 18 write-in votes were cast on the Republican ballot, so he may face competition in the General Election. Five Democrats competed for three seats on council. Winners were Ralph R. Confletti with 250 votes, Daniel Grescavage with 240 votes and Michael J. Dolan II with 224 votes. Not moving on to the General Election were Gloria Bubblo, who got 192 votes and Walter J. Stevens Jr. with 180 votes. Democrat Robert F. Connors ran unopposed for tax collector. Republican write-ins totaled 78, so there may be GOP names on the ballot in November.


In Wyoming, Democratic Mayor Bob Boyer ran unopposed, but may face a Republican in the fall because 46 write-in ballots were cast on the Republican side. Democratic Tax Collector Paul J. Konopka ran unopposed. Wyoming elects members of council by wards and each of the three wards has one candidate running. In Ward 1, Democrat Michael Flynn ran unopposed; in Ward 2, Democrat Diane Smiles ran unopposed; in Ward 3, Republican Michael Baloga ran unopposed. They may face competition if enough write-in votes were cast for a particular candidate.

Nobody’s name appeared on the ballot for the mayor of Yatesville. Mayor Vince Tozzi’s name will likely appear on the November ballot because of a write-in effort. Democrats Anthony J. Rostock and Anthony Russo and Republican Theresa Ritz Mulesky will all take a seat on council.