WA Scholarship Awards Program a huge success

June 27th, 2015 1:56 am

First Posted: 5/29/2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who helped in any way in making Wyoming Area’s Fourth Annual Scholarship and Awards Celebration held in the Wyoming Area High School cafeteria the outstanding success it was.

I offer my deepest gratitude to the individuals and groups who have worked for over a year to ensure the success of this year’s program.

This year’s celebration was the largest to date with over 400 people in attendance.

The Wyoming Area School District is a unique, highly successful district and this celebration is part of that uniqueness and success. The entire community shares in this celebration and its success.

Margret Mead said, “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; it is the only thing that ever has.”

Evidence of this statement was observed on May 23 when 52 students from the Wyoming Area Class of 2013 were awarded approximately $67,000 from our community.

The scholarships were provided by local businesses, individuals, families and civic and school organizations. Several memorial scholarships were presented in honor of loved ones and individuals who were a major part of the Warrior community who have made an impact on our school.

These awards are major and unique accomplishments for our community and a deserving gift for those seniors who were recipients at the celebration.

A program like this is not a one-person show and I would like to take this opportunity to recognize the members of the Wyoming Area Scholarship Committee as well as Mr. Raymond Bernardi, Wyoming Area superintendent, and his administration, and past and present members of the board of education for their continued support of this unique program .

The committee members from the community in alphabetical order are Alicia Adonizio, Karen Aritz, Julianna Borzell, Terri Bugelholl, Amy Hetro, Gina LaNunzita, Anita Montante, Kelly W. Pacelli and Karen Schall.

The school staff members are Ann Agolino, Barbara Bullions, Brian Butler, Tony Callaio, Judy Cefalo, Lisa Dolhon, Denise Holmes, Daneen Kearns, Juel Anne Klepadlo, Leo Lulewicz, Rita Mauriello, Teddy Rabel, Jean Marie Radle and Jennifer Vacula.

The response after the program was extremely positive.

We all look forward to next year’s program, hopefully with more awards.

Always Warrior Proud,

Rosella Fedor-Purcell

Chair, 2013 WA Scholarship/Award Celebration