Letter to the Editor: Wyoming Area Scholarship Celebration chair thanks community

July 17th, 2015 1:16 pm

Dear Editor:

Thank you does not fully express my deep sense of appreciation to the people who helped in any way in making Wyoming Area’s Sixth Annual Scholarship and Awards Celebration on May 21 in the Wyoming Area High School cafeteria the outstanding success it was

Since the program’s inception, 38 new scholarships have been added and two scholarships are continuing. I offer my gratitude to the individuals and groups who have worked for over a year to ensure the success of this year’s program which had the largest attendance of over 450 people.

This program is part of the uniqueness and success of Wyoming Area School District as the entire community shares in this celebration. Margaret Mead said, “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful committed citizens can change the world; it is the only thing that ever has.” Evidence of this statement was observed on May 21 when 53 students from the Wyoming Area Class of 2015 were awarded approximately $93,000 from our community. There were several multiple winners and 117 awards granted at the program.

The scholarships were provided by local businesses, individuals, families, faculty members and civic and school organizations. Several memorial scholarships were presented in honor of loved ones who were a major part of the Warrior community and who made an impact on our school. Each scholarship has its own selection committee. These awards are a deserving and sincerely appreciated gift for the recipients.

A program like this is not a one-person show. I recognize members of the Wyoming Area Scholarship Committee, as well as newly-appointed superintendent Janet Serino, her administration, past and present members of the board of education as well as high school principal Vito Quaglia and his staff for their continued support. Raymond Bernardi, retired superintendent, was also supportive of this program in its early days.

Committee members, in alphabetical order, are Alicia Adonizio, Karen Aritz, Peggy Balberchak, Julianna Borzell, Terri Bugelholl, Amy Hetro, Gina LaNunziata, Anita Montante, Kelly W. Pacelli, Kendra Radle and Karen Schall. School staff members are Barbara Bullions, Brian Butler, Judy Cefalo, Jennifer Ciampi, Lisa Dolhon, Denise Holmes, Daneen Kearns, Juel Anne Klepadlo, Leo Lulewicz, Rita Mauriello, Teddy Rabel and Jean Marie Radle. A sincere thank you to Frank Pugliese and his janitorial staff and Melissa Collevechio and her cafeteria staff.

The media coverage of this program was extensive and I extend my sincerest gratitude for that.

Dr. Mary Elizabeth Sokach was the featured speaker. A native of West Pittston, a magna cum laude Wyoming Area graduate and a graduate of Arcadia University and the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, she has served as the Center Director of the Exeter Township Medical Center as well as the Assistant Regional Dean of the The Commonwealth Medical College South Campus for the past 18 years.

She and her husband, Donnie, have three sons, Tristan, Stephen and Blaise, all Wyoming Area students. Interestingly, Dr. Sokach was one of the speakers at her high school graduation and also a recipient of the West Pittston Lioness Scholarship when she was a senior. Her presentation to the recipients was well received by the entire audience as she offered solid advice on attaining success and happiness in life.

Any one interested in learning about donating a scholarship to this program may call Mrs. Rabel in the guidance department at 570-655-2836, ext. 2339.

Always Warrior Proud,

Rosella Fedor-Purcell

WA Scholarship/Award Celebration Chair